Playoff name, host stadium expected to be announced this week

Playoff name, host stadium expected to be announced this week

[dropcap]A[/dropcap]n announcement of the name of college football’s upcoming playoff system and where the first game will be played is expected within the week.

Bill Hancock on the name for college football's playoff: “It will be simple and descriptive. And not cutesy.”

Bill Hancock on the name for college football’s playoff: “It will be simple and descriptive. And not cutesy.”

According to the Kansas City Star, it’s expected to happen when conference commissioners and an athletic directors advisory group meet in Pasadena, Calif. beginning Tuesday of this week.

Bill Hancock, executive director of the playoff and championship game, says the name will be “simple and descriptive, and not cutsey.” Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby expects it to be more “like the Masters than NASCAR.” Thus, there will be no title sponsor or corporate identity.

Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, and Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla. are the two finalists to host the first title game, which is set for Jan. 12, 2015.

Though many Cowboys Stadium to be a virtual lock, a source familiar with selection process told the Star that Tampa made an aggressive bid and a decision has not yet been made.

“It may ultimately go to Dallas,” the source said earlier this week. “But some writers have declared it a done deal, and it’s not a done deal.”

What won’t be revealed is the members of the committee that will select the four playoff teams.

Hancock did say the selection committee will be made up of 15-22 members with all 10 Division I conferences represented. It will look something like the Division I basketball selection committee, but may also include former commissioners, coaches, or even a retired media member.

“We are reinventing the wheel,” Hancock said. “There’s never been anything like this in Division I football. We want to be deliberate with it.”

Under the new playoff system, there will be six major bowl games in addition to the championship, with two of the major bowls serving as national semifinals on a rotating basis. The first semifinals will be played at the Sugar Bowl and the Rose Bowl.

The selection committee will choose the major bowl game slots not filled by the automatic conference tie-ins of the Rose, Sugar and Orange Bowls, as well as selecting the most qualified team from the five conferences that don’t have a contract with a major bowl.

Photo credit: M. Spencer Green / AP

Related Posts
Western Kentucky DB Jonathan Dowling leaving for the NFL
Countdown To Firing Day #3
Big Ten, Pac-12 add two California bowl matchups
Ole Miss lineman dies in car accident