Glendale, Tampa awarded 2016 and 2017 College Football Playoff title games

By on December 16, 2013

The sites of the second and third College Football Playoff National Championship games have been announced.

College Football Playoff logoThe cities of Glendale, Ariz. and Tampa, Fla., will host the title games following the 2015 and 2016 seasons. The Glendale game will be played on Jan. 11, 2016, while the game in Tampa will take place Jan. 9, 2017.

The first CFP title game will be played Jan. 12, 2015 in Arlington, Texas.

The Bay Area, Miami, Minnesota and San Antonio all put in a bid for the 2016 game, while Jacksonville, New Orleans and Tampa bid for the 2017 game.

The Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl will serve as the first semifinal games for the 2014 season.

The semifinals for the 2015 season will be the Orange Bowl and Cotton Bowl, while the Fiesta Bowl and Chick-fil-A Bowl were tapped as the semifinals for the 2016 season.